

A website was created to offer community members reliable information on the litigation.

https://rstannuitylitigation.ca/

Welcome to the Robinson Superior Treaty Annuity Information Portal

This portal has been set up by the Chiefs of the Robinson Superior Treaty Nations (also referred to as the "12 RST First Nations") to provide community members with reliable information and updates on Robinson Superior Treaty Annuities Litigation.

Background

In 1850, some Anishinaabe of the north shore of Lake Superior signed the **Robinson Superior Treaty** with the Crown, although many of their communities did not. In exchange for access to a vast expanse of land in Northern Ontario, the Crown committed to a lump sum payment and a perpetual annuity to the Chiefs and their tribes that would increase based on the wealth that would in time be derived from the treaty territory. It later became clear that not all 12 RST First Nations whose traditional territories overlapped with the geographic boundaries of the Robinson Superior Treaty were represented at the signing of the treaty in 1850.

Despite significant economic development in the area, the annuity has remained capped at \$4 per person since 1875. Robinson Superior Treaty Annuity Litigation challenged this inaction.

On July 26, 2024, after many years of litigation, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled in favour of the Superior Plaintiffs, stating the Crown breached its duty to adjust annuities as promised in the treaty. The Court granted the Crown six months to reach a settlement, or if no settlement is reached, to exercise its discretion in an honourable way to determine an amount owed as compensation for past treaty breaches.

12 RST First Nations

There are 12 First Nations involved in the litigation process, but only 6 of them stand to benefit immediately from any compensation. They are the signatory or adherent First Nations:

Animbiigoo Zaagi'igan Anishinaabek
Fort William First Nation
Kiashke Zaaging Anishinaabek (Gull Bay First Nation)
Michipicoten First Nation
Red Rock First Nation
Whitesand First Nation

The other 6 First Nations must first resolve their outstanding Aboriginal title claims or adhere to the Treaty before they gain access any annuity compensation:

Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Pic River First Nation)
Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek (Rocky Bay First Nation)
Bingwi Neyaashi Anishinaabek (Sand Point First Nation)
Long Lake No. 58 First Nation
Netmizaaggamig Nishnaabeg (Pic Mobert First Nation)
Pays Plat First Nation

KZA Treaty Annuity Settlement Community Consultation Meetings

May 1st at 11:00am in KZA at Rec Hall for members residing in Gull Bay May 1st at 6:30pm in Thunder Bay at the Valhalla Inn for TBay members